2023 Scholarship Update

The University of Michigan Alumni Club of Ft. Wayne board of directors is pleased to announce two new scholarship winners in 2023. Both awards were funded through the generosity of Joanie Fackler Gerberding’s university endowment fund. The following provides some background information on our two recipients, both of whom have enrolled for the upcoming fall term.

Name                                                     Miss Curry Jackson                                    Miss Sofia Vazquez
High school                                           Concordia                                                    Bishop Dwenger
UM School enrolled                            Music, Theater, Dance                               LSA
Scholarship amount                            $22,500 / year                                             $22,500 / year
Some extracurriculars                       Drama thespian                                           Spanish Club
National Honor Society                             National Honor Society
Peer Minister                                              Keys Club
Fellowship of  Christian Athletes             Gymnastics
Student Council                                          Student Council
Diversity Club

Ms. Vazquez said, ‘ Since a visit to A2 while in  middle school , UM has been my top college choice . It is a dream come true to have the opportunity to attend this prestigious university . I hope to ultimately attend law school to become an immigration or civil rights lawyer. ‘

Ms. Jackson said, ‘ I will pursue a career in  commercial dance choreography  to share my love and enthusiasm for the arts and creative expression . This award will help tremendously with out-of- state tuition! The UM degree and alumni network will open doors for me .’

Please review our website for  background on each of the  scholarship funds the club administers on behalf of the  following donors in honorarium  and the UM Office of Financial Aid .
Joanie Fackler Gerberding (in honor of her deceased husband Don Fackler)
Garet and Carolyn Crosby (in honor of their deceased parents Louis and Margaret)
Mary Menge Scrogham (in honor of her deceased husband Richard)
Local UM  club account  #321250 ( funded by your contributions )
Please consider a donation now to any of these funds as we will need such funds to provide scholarships for the next several years since these large Fackler fund awards are offered once every 4 years.

We are also pleased to announce Ms. Reganne Ackmann as a 2023  honorarium recipient.

Go Blue!

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By using this site, you accept our use of cookies.