Guess That Grad – February 2019

Which Broadway playwright set aside part of his estate to create an award at U-M for student creative writers?
Read time: < 1 minute

James Avery Hopwood, 1905, was one of the most well-known Broadway playwrights of the 1920—most notably known for having four Broadway hits showing concurrently in 1920. Beyond his works, his legacy extends into The Hopwood Award, a creative writing award established at U-M in 1931. According to the 1938 U-M Financial Report, Hopwood stipulated that, “it is especially desired that students competing for prizes shall be allowed the widest possible latitude, and that the new, the unusual, and the radical shall be especially encouraged.” Notable past winners of the Hopwood Award include Arthur Miller, ’38, Howard Moss, ’71, Steve Hamilton, ’83, and Jesmyn Ward, MFA’05.

For a list of notable U-M grads, visit

Become a Member Today!

Your membership dollars allow us to tell stories that celebrate U-M alums’ achievements and their impact in the world. Support this work and get access to all Michigan Alum articles by joining today.

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By using this site, you accept our use of cookies.