Michigan Alumni Cheerleaders Association: Scholarship Information

What is the Newt. C Loken Scholarship Award?

Coach Newt Loken is a Michigan legend.  His family, colleagues and student-athletes benefitted from his extraordinary athletic achievements and, as importantly, his joyful and compassionate character.  Coach Loken was The University of Michigan Cheerleading Coach from 1946-1976.  In 2005, Larry Price (a former cheerleader) established the Newt C. Loken Scholarship Fund in order to provide tuition support for a member/s of the cheerleading squad.

Who receives this award?

Each year the current U-M cheerleaders have the opportunity to apply for this award.  The applications are looked over by the Alumni Association Board of Directors and given to the cheerleader/s who have served one year or more on the squad, maintained a 3.0 grade point average or higher, and who exemplify the qualities of LEADERSHIP and ENTHUSIASM.

2018 Newt Loken Scholarship Recipients

(President Holly Kralik with winner Christina Shabet, Emily Slavkin not pictured)

How can I contribute?

Contributions to the Scholarship Fund can be made at any time during the year (please check with your employer regarding possible Matching Contribution Programs).  You may contribute to this award in the following ways:

Online Donation:

Click Here

Mail Donation:

Newton C. Loken Scholarship Donation Form

What is The Pam Davis Spirit of Michigan Award?

The University of Michigan Alumni Cheerleaders Association has established an annual cheerleading award and monetary scholarship in memory of Pam Davis.  It is called The Pam Davis Spirit of Michigan Award.  Pam was a cheerleader at the Univeristy of Michigan from 1972-1974, a long time president of the U-M Alumni Cheerleaders Association and a devoted U-M sports fan.  Sadly, she passed away from cancer in December of 2009.

Who receives this award?

This award is given annually to one or more current U-M Varsity cheerleader(s) that best represents Pam’s enthusiasm and dedication to The University of Michigan ahtletes and sports programs as an Alumni Cheerleader.

2018 Pam Davis Scholarship Recipients
pam davis 2018Pam Davis Scholarship winners, Joseph Solomon and Bailey Hedman with VP Emily Ray

How can I contribute?

Please show your support for this Scholarship Fund. We greatly appreciate all of your contributions.  Please use one of the following payment options if you would like to make a contribution in Pam’s memory:


Click Here


The Pam Davis Spirit of Michigan Award Form 

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By using this site, you accept our use of cookies.